Valorant / Practical guide

Valorant Agents List 2026: All 30 Agents in Release Order With Roles, Dates and Abilities

Valorant has 30 agents after Hush arrived with patch 13.09 on 27 October 2026. Here is every agent in release order with patch, act, role and origin, the count by role, and what each unlock method costs.

ALVIRAN Editorial · Reviewed 2026-11-07

In this guide
30 agents, one release order. AGENTS, NEWEST AGENT, AGENT PRICE

Valorant accounts with agents already unlocked

Every listing shows the account's rank, region and inventory before checkout, so you can skip the 8,000 Kingdom Credit grind per agent.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

All Valorant agents in order of release

This is every playable agent in the order Riot added them. Roles and origins come from the agent data in the game files (mirrored by valorant-api.com, client release 13.09). Release dates and patches come from Riot's own patch notes, and the episode or act is taken from the act start and end times in the game's season data. Since January 2025 Riot names its seasons by year, so V25 means Season 2025 and V26 means Season 2026.

Every Valorant agent in release order, as of 7 November 2026
#AgentRoleRelease datePatchEpisode / actOrigin
1 to 10Brimstone, Viper, Omen, Cypher, Sova, Sage, Phoenix, Jett, Raze, BreachMixed (see below)Before launchClosed betaClosed beta, April to May 2020See the role tables
11ReynaDuelist2 Jun 20201.0Episode 1, Act IMexico
12KilljoySentinel4 Aug 20201.05Episode 1, Act IIGermany
13SkyeInitiator27 Oct 20201.11Episode 1, Act IIIAustralia
14YoruDuelist12 Jan 20212.0Episode 2, Act IJapan
15AstraController2 Mar 20212.04Episode 2, Act IIGhana
16KAY/OInitiator22 Jun 20213.0Episode 3, Act INot stated (a machine built to fight Radiants)
17ChamberSentinel16 Nov 20213.10Episode 3, Act IIIFrance
18NeonDuelist11 Jan 20224.0Episode 4, Act IPhilippines
19FadeInitiator27 Apr 20224.08Episode 4, Act IIITurkey
20HarborController18 Oct 20225.08Episode 5, Act IIIIndia
21GekkoInitiator7 Mar 20236.04Episode 6, Act IIUSA (Los Angeles)
22DeadlockSentinel27 Jun 20237.0Episode 7, Act INorway
23IsoDuelist31 Oct 20237.09Episode 7, Act IIIChina
24CloveController26 Mar 20248.05Episode 8, Act IIScotland
25VyseSentinel27 Aug 20249.04Episode 9, Act IINot stated
26TejoInitiator7 Jan 202510.00V25 Act IColombia
27WaylayDuelist4 Mar 202510.04V25 Act IIThailand
28VetoSentinel7 Oct 202511.07bV25 Act VSenegal
29MiksController17 Mar 202612.05V26 Act IICroatia
30HushDuelist27 Oct 202613.09V26 Act VIChina (Guangdong)

About the dates. Each date is the day Riot published the patch notes that added the agent (13:00 or 14:00 UTC for most patches). Act-opening patches often went live a day later in some regions, which is why the game data stores 8 January 2025 for Tejo and 18 March 2026 for Miks. Reyna's 1.0 notes went up at 23:00 UTC on 1 June 2020, the eve of the global launch on 2 June. Veto is the only agent who arrived in a "b" patch: Riot's surprise notes for 11.07b say he "has arrived" together with the new Skirmish mode.

Origins are Riot's own wording from the agent bios in the game files: Gekko is "the Angeleno", Hush is a "Chinese operative" from Guangdong province, and Veto is a "Senegalese enforcer". Riot gives no home country for Omen, KAY/O or Vyse, so this list does not invent one.

The original Valorant agents from the closed beta

Ten agents were in the game before launch. Riot's 1.0 notes call Reyna "the latest Agent to join", which makes her the eleventh and the first post-beta agent. The ten originals cover all four roles, and five of them are still the free starter agents on every new account.

The 10 original Valorant agents (closed beta, 2020)
AgentRoleOriginFree on new accounts
BrimstoneControllerUSAYes
ViperControllerUSANo
OmenControllerNot statedNo
SovaInitiatorRussiaYes
BreachInitiatorSwedenNo
SageSentinelChinaYes
CypherSentinelMoroccoNo
JettDuelistSouth KoreaYes
PhoenixDuelistUnited KingdomYes
RazeDuelistBrazilNo

The "free" column is the base content flag in the game files: only Brimstone, Jett, Phoenix, Sage and Sova carry it. That gives a new player one Controller, one Initiator, one Sentinel and two Duelists before they unlock anything.

Every Valorant agent's abilities at a glance

Each agent has three basic abilities and one ultimate, and some have a passive on top. The names below are the current ones from the 13.09 game files, which also rewrote every ability description for clarity. The summary is our short version of what the kit does; it is not a full tooltip.

Abilities of all 30 Valorant agents (ultimate last, passive in brackets)
AgentRoleAbilitiesWhat the kit does
BrimstoneControllerStim Beacon, Incendiary, Sky Smoke, Orbital StrikeMap-placed smokes, a molly and a team stim; the ultimate is a long damage beam from orbit.
ViperControllerSnake Bite, Poison Cloud, Toxic Screen, Viper's Pit (Toxin)Fuel-based toxic smoke and wall that decay enemies; the ultimate fills an area with a large toxic cloud.
OmenControllerShrouded Step, Paranoia, Dark Cover, From the ShadowsLong-range smokes, a nearsight and deafen projectile, short teleports and a map-wide teleport ultimate.
SovaInitiatorOwl Drone, Shock Bolt, Recon Bolt, Hunter's FuryRecon arrows and a drone reveal enemies; the ultimate fires up to three damage zones that reveal enemies hit.
BreachInitiatorAftershock, Flashpoint, Fault Line, Rolling ThunderFlashes and damage through walls, a concussing line and a cone that knocks up everyone hit.
SageSentinelBarrier Orb, Slow Orb, Healing Orb, ResurrectionA wall, a slow field and heals; the ultimate revives a dead teammate.
CypherSentinelTrapwire, Cyber Cage, Spycam, Neural TheftHidden tripwires, a camera and cage smokes; the ultimate snapshots living enemies twice, cast on a dead enemy.
JettDuelistCloudburst, Updraft, Tailwind, Blade Storm (Drift)Dash, updraft and quick smokes for aggressive entries; the ultimate gives five lethal throwing knives.
PhoenixDuelistBlaze, Hot Hands, Curveball, Run it Back (Inner Fire)Self-healing fire, curving flashes and a fire wall; the ultimate brings him back to a marker on death.
RazeDuelistBoom Bot, Blast Pack, Paint Shells, ShowstopperExplosive utility for clearing corners and satchel movement; the ultimate is a rocket launcher.
ReynaDuelistLeer, Devour, Dismiss, Empress (Vitality)Soul Orbs from kills heal her or make her intangible; the ultimate makes that unlimited while it lasts.
KilljoySentinelNanoswarm, Alarmbot, Turret, LockdownGadgets that hold a site on their own; the ultimate detains every enemy in a large radius.
SkyeInitiatorRegrowth, Trailblazer, Guiding Light, SeekersA steerable flash, a controllable creature and team healing; the ultimate hunts the three closest enemies.
YoruDuelistFakeout, Blindside, Gatecrash, Dimensional DriftClones, bounce flashes and a teleport tether; the ultimate makes him invisible and intangible.
AstraControllerGravity Well, Nova Pulse, Nebula, Cosmic Divide (Astral Form)Stars placed from Astral Form turn into smokes, a concuss or a pull; the ultimate splits the map with a wall.
KAY/OInitiatorFRAG/ment, FLASH/drive, ZERO/point, NULL/cmdA suppress knife, flash and molly; the ultimate suppresses in pulses, and if he is downed he can be re-stabilized.
ChamberSentinelTrademark, Headhunter, Rendezvous, Tour De ForceA heavy pistol, a slowing trap and a teleport anchor; the ultimate is a one-hit sniper rifle.
NeonDuelistFast Lane, Relay Bolt, High Gear, Overdrive (Battery)Sprint and slide, two parallel walls and a bouncing concuss; the ultimate adds an accurate lightning beam.
FadeInitiatorProwler, Seize, Haunt, Nightfall (Terror Trails)A reveal eye, a tether and a chasing creature; the ultimate is a wave that marks and deafens.
HarborControllerStorm Surge, High Tide, Cove, ReckoningA steerable water wall, a nearsight grenade and a smoke that can turn into a shield; the ultimate pushes a wall that nearsights and slows.
GekkoInitiatorMosh Pit, Wingman, Dizzy, Thrash (Globule)Creatures that flash, concuss and plant or defuse; most can be picked up again as Globules.
DeadlockSentinelBarrier Mesh, Sonic Sensor, GravNet, AnnihilationSound-triggered concuss, a crouch-forcing net and a movement-blocking barrier; the ultimate cocoons the first enemy hit.
IsoDuelistContingency, Undercut, Double Tap, Kill Contract (Focus)A one-hit shield, a vulnerable bolt and a moving wall; the ultimate pulls one enemy into a 1v1 arena.
CloveControllerPick-me-up, Meddle, Ruse, Not Dead YetSmokes that can be cast even after death and a decay grenade; the ultimate is a self-revive.
VyseSentinelRazorvine, Shear, Arc Rose, Steel GardenA hidden wall trap, a thorn field and a wall flash; the ultimate jams enemy primary weapons.
TejoInitiatorStealth Drone, Special Delivery, Guided Salvo, ArmageddonA reveal drone, a concuss grenade and map-targeted missiles; the ultimate is a long strike wave.
WaylayDuelistSaturate, Lightspeed, Refract, Convergent PathsTwo-step dashes and a return-to-marker escape; Saturate and the ultimate hinder enemies.
VetoSentinelCrosscut, Chokehold, Interceptor, EvolutionAn Interceptor that destroys enemy utility, a teleport and a trap; the ultimate grants healing and immunity to debuffs and non-weapon damage.
MiksControllerM-pulse, Harmonize, Waveform, BassquakeMap smokes, a pulse that concusses or heals and a team stim; the ultimate deafens, knocks back and slows.
HushDuelistFlow, Flashbulb, Displacement, Suspension (Telekinesis)Thrown utility that can be redirected in midair, a pull grenade and a flash; the ultimate levitates everyone hit.

How many agents are in Valorant? Count by role

There are 30 playable agents in Valorant on 7 November 2026. The count went from 29 to 30 with Hush on 27 October 2026. Duelist is the largest role with nine agents; the other three roles have seven each.

Valorant agents by role (30 agents, patch 13.09)
RoleAgentsCountNewest in role
DuelistJett, Phoenix, Raze, Reyna, Yoru, Neon, Iso, Waylay, Hush9Hush, Oct 2026
InitiatorSova, Breach, Skye, KAY/O, Fade, Gekko, Tejo7Tejo, Jan 2025
ControllerBrimstone, Viper, Omen, Astra, Harbor, Clove, Miks7Miks, Mar 2026
SentinelSage, Cypher, Killjoy, Chamber, Deadlock, Vyse, Veto7Veto, Oct 2025
Total30Hush
Agents in total30
Duelists9
Free starter agents5
Agents added since launch20

Of the 20 agents added after the closed beta, six are Duelists, five are Initiators, five are Sentinels and four are Controllers. Initiator is the role that has waited longest for a new agent: Tejo came out on 7 January 2025, almost two years before this review.

Valorant agents released per year

New Valorant agents by year, 2020 to 2026
YearNew agentsAgentsRunning total
20201310 closed beta agents, Reyna, Killjoy, Skye13
20214Yoru, Astra, KAY/O, Chamber17
20223Neon, Fade, Harbor20
20233Gekko, Deadlock, Iso23
20242Clove, Vyse25
20253Tejo, Waylay, Veto28
20262Miks, Hush30

Counted from Reyna onwards, the average gap between two new agents is 123 days, about four months. The shortest gap was Astra, 49 days after Yoru in 2021. The longest is the newest one: Hush came 224 days after Miks, more than seven months, which beats the 217 days between Waylay and Veto in 2025.

Pick your main without the unlock grind

Search for accounts with a high peak rank and see the full agent and skin list on each listing before you pay.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

Newest Valorant agent: Hush

Hush is agent number 30 and the newest Valorant agent as of 7 November 2026. Riot's patch notes 13.09, published on 27 October 2026, open with "New Agent Hush is now in game" and describe her as a telekinetic operative from Guangdong province. She is a Duelist, the ninth in the game and the first new Duelist since Waylay in March 2025.

Telekinesis (passive)

Picks up weapons and, on attack, the Spike from a longer range, and uses switches from further away.

Flashbulb and Displacement

Both can be thrown or held, then redirected toward the crosshair in flight. Flashbulb flashes; Displacement pulls players to its center and concusses anyone who hits a surface or another player. Displacement resets every two kills.

Flow

Instantly sets an anchor. In the air, Hush briefly levitates, then propels toward the anchor after a delay.

Suspension (ultimate)

A projectile she steers with the crosshair. Detonating it levitates all players caught in it.

The same notes say Hush is the first new agent since Riot introduced Performance Score, and warn that her scores may be "a bit bumpy" for a few days while Riot tunes what good utility use looks like. Her Agent Recruitment event started on release day and runs for 28 days, which puts the end at about 24 November 2026; the client shows the exact end time.

The agents before Hush

  • Miks (Controller, 17 March 2026, patch 12.05): a sound-themed agent from Croatia with map smokes, a pulse that can concuss or heal, and a stim for himself and one ally.
  • Veto (Sentinel, 7 October 2025, patch 11.07b): from Senegal, built around denying utility. His Interceptor destroys enemy utility, and his ultimate Evolution makes him immune to debuffs.
  • Waylay (Duelist, 4 March 2025, patch 10.04): a light-based Duelist from Thailand with double dashes and a return-to-marker escape.

Riot has not announced agent 31 as of 7 November 2026. Data-mined names are not confirmation, so this list adds a new agent only when Riot's patch notes do.

How to unlock agents in Valorant

Since the progression update of June 2023 (patch 7.0), Valorant has three ways to get an agent for good: the free starter set, the Agent Store and Agent Recruitment events for new agents. Riot's progression explainer describes how the old Agent Contracts were split into those systems, and Riot's Kingdom Credits FAQ covers the rules that still apply.

Every way to unlock a Valorant agent (November 2026)
MethodCostWhich agentsPermanent
Starter agentsFreeBrimstone, Jett, Phoenix, Sage, SovaYes
Free Agent TokensUp to 2 tokens from the Basic Training event for new playersAny Agent Store agent, not one with an active recruitment eventYes
Agent Recruitment eventFree: 200,000 XP within 28 daysOnly the newly released agentYes
Kingdom Credits8,000 KC per agentAny Agent Store agent, after its recruitment event endsYes
Valorant Points1,000 VP per agentAny agent, including a new one on day oneYes
Xbox Game Pass linkActive subscriptionAll agents, including new onesNo, only while linked and active

Agent Recruitment events

Riot calls them "free event passes" that start automatically the day a new agent releases and stay active for 28 days. You earn progress from normal XP; Riot's official wiki puts the target at 200,000 XP. During those 28 days the support FAQ says a new agent can only be unlocked with VP, the recruitment event or an active linked Xbox Game Pass subscription. Kingdom Credits and tokens do not work until the event ends. Miss the target and the agent simply moves into the Agent Store.

Kingdom Credits

Kingdom Credits (KC) are the free currency added in patch 7.0. Riot's FAQ says you earn them "just for playing the game", get 150 KC for each daily checkpoint, and that the wallet caps at 10,000 KC. One agent costs 8,000 KC, so after an unlock you start again almost from zero. A match in which you are penalized for disruptive behavior earns no KC. KC also pays for items in the Accessory Store and agent cosmetics.

Agent Gear became Agent Mastery in 2026

The old ten-level Agent Gear track ended with patch 13.06 on 22 September 2026. In its place, Agent Mastery gives each agent Act levels, Lifetime levels, a Reward Track and an Agent ID, all earned by playing that agent. Lifetime progression opens the rewards, and you still spend Kingdom Credits to claim them. Riot's 13.05 notes had warned players to finish their Agent Gear before the switch; gear already unlocked was kept. You still need to own an agent before you can earn its cosmetics.

Before June 2023. Agents used to be unlocked through Agent Contracts: you activated one contract at a time, and level 5 of 10 gave the agent. Riot says a recruitment event takes about as long as level 5 of an old contract, and partial contract progress was removed in the switch. Temporary access still exists in a few places, for example in The Range and in modes that pick agents for you.

Owning more agents does not change ranked access or your rank. If you want to know which maps you will play those agents on this act, see the Valorant map pool 2026. For the difference between account types in the shop, read NFA vs Full Access accounts.

Where Valorant agents are from

Riot's bios place 27 of the 30 agents in 23 different countries. China (Sage, Iso and Hush) and the USA (Brimstone, Viper and Gekko) have three agents each. Every other named country has one.

Valorant agents by country of origin (Riot agent bios)
RegionAgents and countriesCount
EuropePhoenix (UK), Clove (Scotland), Killjoy (Germany), Chamber (France), Breach (Sweden), Deadlock (Norway), Miks (Croatia), Sova (Russia), Fade (Turkey)9
AsiaSage, Iso, Hush (China), Jett (South Korea), Yoru (Japan), Neon (Philippines), Waylay (Thailand), Harbor (India)8
AmericasBrimstone, Viper, Gekko (USA), Reyna (Mexico), Raze (Brazil), Tejo (Colombia)6
AfricaCypher (Morocco), Astra (Ghana), Veto (Senegal)3
OceaniaSkye (Australia)1
Not statedOmen, KAY/O, Vyse3

Riot counts Scotland and the UK separately in the bios (Clove is "Scottish", Phoenix is "from the U.K."), so we keep them as two entries. Fade's bio says "Turkish", and we list Turkey under Europe for simplicity. The cosmetics side of these agents, from Champions bundles to rare knives, is covered in our Champions bundles by year, the 10 rarest Valorant knives and the best Vandal skins of 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How many agents are in Valorant in 2026?

30, as of 7 November 2026. The count reached 30 when Hush was added with patch 13.09 on 27 October 2026. There are 9 Duelists, 7 Initiators, 7 Controllers and 7 Sentinels.

Who is the newest Valorant agent?

Hush, a Duelist from China, released with patch 13.09 on 27 October 2026. The agent before her was Miks, a Controller from Croatia, on 17 March 2026.

What is the order of Valorant agents?

After the ten closed beta agents (Brimstone, Viper, Omen, Cypher, Sova, Sage, Phoenix, Jett, Raze, Breach) came Reyna, Killjoy, Skye, Yoru, Astra, KAY/O, Chamber, Neon, Fade, Harbor, Gekko, Deadlock, Iso, Clove, Vyse, Tejo, Waylay, Veto, Miks and Hush.

Which Valorant agents are free?

Brimstone, Jett, Phoenix, Sage and Sova are unlocked on every account. New players can also earn up to two Free Agent Tokens in the Basic Training event and spend them on any agent in the Agent Store.

How much does an agent cost in Valorant?

1,000 VP or 8,000 Kingdom Credits in the Agent Store. A brand-new agent can only be bought with VP during its first 28 days, or earned for free with 200,000 XP in its Agent Recruitment event.

Who was the first agent added after Valorant launched?

Reyna, who arrived with patch 1.0 at the global launch on 2 June 2020. Killjoy followed on 4 August 2020 as the first agent added after launch day.

What is the latest Initiator in Valorant?

Tejo, released with patch 10.00 on 7 January 2025. No Initiator has been added since, while Duelists, Sentinels and Controllers have each had a new agent after Tejo.

When is the next Valorant agent coming out?

Riot had not announced agent 31 as of 7 November 2026. New agents have come every 123 days on average since 2020, but the last two gaps were 161 and 224 days.

Valorant accounts for every role

Pay with crypto at 0 % fees and check the rank, region and skins on every account before checkout.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

Sources and editorial scope

Agent roster, roles, base (free) agents, ability names and bios: game data mirrored by valorant-api.com (agents, client release 13.09 built 28 October 2026). Episode and act boundaries: seasons from the same source. Release dates: Riot's patch notes 1.0, 1.05, 1.11, 2.0, 2.04, 3.0, 3.10, 4.0, 4.08, 5.08, 6.04, 7.0, 7.09, 8.05, 9.04, 10.00, 10.04, 11.07b, 12.05 and 13.09. Agent pages: playvalorant.com agents. Unlock rules: Riot's progression update explainer (June 2023), the Kingdom Credits FAQ on Riot Support, and Riot's official VALORANT Wiki agents page for the 1,000 VP and 8,000 KC prices, the 200,000 XP recruitment target and the Basic Training tokens. Agent Gear and Agent Mastery: patch notes 13.05 and 13.06. Role counts, per-year counts, release gaps and the origin grouping are ALVIRAN's own tally of these sources. Ability summaries are our short paraphrase of Riot's tooltips. Reviewed 7 November 2026.

Riot prohibits selling, sharing or transferring accounts under its Terms of Service. Nothing in this guide changes those rules or removes the risk of account action.