Counter-Strike 2 / Practical guide

CS2 Operations List: Every CS:GO Operation in Order With Start and End Dates, Cases and All 37 Coins

Eleven operations ran between April 2013 and February 2022, and none has run in CS2 since. Here are the exact dates from Valve's own posts, the case and knife each one brought, and every coin you could earn.

ALVIRAN Editorial · Reviewed 2026-10-23

In this guide
11 operations, 37 coins. None since Riptide. OPERATIONS, FIRST, LAST ENDED

CS2 accounts with operation coins

Every listing shows its coins, medals and profile rank before checkout, so you see which operations the account played.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

CS2 operations list: all 11 operations with dates

Start and end dates come from Valve's own announcements on the CS:GO blog; every date in the table links to the post that states it. End dates include the extensions Valve announced. Length is in days from the start post to the end post.

Every CS:GO operation, start to end
#OperationStartEndDaysCaseCoin tiers
1Payback25 Apr 201331 Aug 2013128None3
2Bravo19 Sep 20135 Feb 2014139Operation Bravo Case3
3Phoenix20 Feb 201411 Jun 2014111Operation Phoenix Weapon Case3
4Breakout1 Jul 20142 Oct 201493Operation Breakout Weapon Case3
5Vanguard11 Nov 201431 Mar 2015140Operation Vanguard Weapon Case3
6Bloodhound26 May 20151 Oct 2015128Falchion Case3
7Wildfire17 Feb 201615 Jul 2016149Operation Wildfire Case3
8Hydra23 May 201713 Nov 2017174Operation Hydra Case4
9Shattered Web18 Nov 201931 Mar 2020134Shattered Web Case4
10Broken Fang3 Dec 20203 May 2021151Operation Broken Fang Case4
11Riptide21 Sep 202121 Feb 2022153Operation Riptide Case4

Valve only stated pass prices for some of them: Payback launched "half-priced for $2.99", and the Wildfire and Hydra passes cost $5.99 in the release notes. We left the other prices out rather than guess.

CS:GO operations in order: what each one added

What each operation brought, in Valve's words
OperationMaps and modesItems and features
PaybackMap group of 7 top-rated Workshop maps in Classic CasualFirst operation; map makers' share passed $150,000 by 31 Jul 2013
Bravo8 maps: Agency, Ali, Cache, Chinatown, Gwalior, Ruins, Siege, Seaside; first time in Competitive31 finishes in two collections; coin doubled as a stats scorecard
PhoenixThe 8 most-voted maps from the two earlier operationsPhoenix Case with 13 community finishes, for pass holders
Breakout6 community maps free for all playersMissions, Operation Journal, Baggage, Cobblestone and Overpass collections (45 finishes), Butterfly Knife
Vanguard6 community maps free for all playersCampaigns with weekly missions and Challenge Stars
BloodhoundAgency, Resort, Zoo, Log, Rails, SeasonProfile Ranks and XP, 62 missions, Gods and Monsters, Rising Sun and Chop Shop collections, Falchion Knife
Wildfire7 community maps and the return of NukeGemini co-op campaign, 30-mission Wildfire Campaign, Blitz Missions, Bowie Knife
HydraAustria, Shipped, Lite, Thrill, Agency, Insertion, Black GoldHydra Events incl. Wingman and Weapons Expert, Guardian campaign, first Diamond coin
Shattered WebNew maps across modesFirst Agents, star-based reward track, Norse, St. Marc, Canals and Shattered Web collections, four new knives
Broken FangRetakes and Broken Fang PremierOperation stats page, Control, Havoc and Ancient collections, new set of gloves
RiptidePrivate queues, short Competitive (MR16) option2021 Dust 2, Mirage, Train and Vertigo collections, Riptide Case with Gamma Doppler knives

Some features outlived their operation. Valve kept Wingman after Hydra (The Best of Hydra), kept Retakes and Premier pick/ban after Broken Fang, and kept all Riptide game modes after 21 February 2022. Agency entered the Competitive map pool when Hydra ended. For today's maps see the CS2 map pool 2026 guide.

All 37 CS:GO operation coins

Valve's game file items_game.txt defines every coin. The first seven operations had three levels: the Challenge Coin (bronze), Silver and Gold. Hydra added a Diamond level, and every operation after it kept four. That makes 7 x 3 + 4 x 4 = 37 coin versions.

Every operation coin, by level
OperationBronzeSilverGoldDiamond
PaybackOperation Payback Challenge CoinSilver Operation Payback CoinGold Operation Payback CoinNone
BravoOperation Bravo Challenge CoinSilver Operation Bravo CoinGold Operation Bravo CoinNone
PhoenixOperation Phoenix Challenge CoinSilver Operation Phoenix CoinGold Operation Phoenix CoinNone
BreakoutOperation Breakout Challenge CoinSilver Operation Breakout CoinGold Operation Breakout CoinNone
VanguardOperation Vanguard Challenge CoinSilver Operation Vanguard CoinGold Operation Vanguard CoinNone
BloodhoundOperation Bloodhound Challenge CoinSilver Operation Bloodhound CoinGold Operation Bloodhound CoinNone
WildfireOperation Wildfire Challenge CoinSilver Operation Wildfire CoinGold Operation Wildfire CoinNone
HydraOperation Hydra Challenge CoinSilver Operation Hydra CoinGold Operation Hydra CoinDiamond Operation Hydra Coin
Shattered WebOperation Shattered Web Challenge CoinSilver Operation Shattered Web CoinGold Operation Shattered Web CoinDiamond Operation Shattered Web Coin
Broken FangOperation Broken Fang Challenge CoinSilver Operation Broken Fang CoinGold Operation Broken Fang CoinDiamond Operation Broken Fang Coin
RiptideOperation Riptide Challenge CoinSilver Operation Riptide CoinGold Operation Riptide CoinDiamond Operation Riptide Coin

In the game file every coin uses the operation_coin prefab, which inherits "cannot trade". You cannot buy, trade or sell an operation coin. It only moves with the account.

How a coin levelled up changed over time. Bravo and Phoenix coins tracked your official Competitive stats. Vanguard and later operations upgraded the coin through missions and stars. For Shattered Web, Valve wrote on 3 March 2020 that it would start issuing Diamond coins to users who had completed 100 missions. When Shattered Web ended, coins received commemorative inscriptions with the number of missions completed and stars attained.

CS2 accounts with a Bloodhound or Hydra coin

These coins cannot be traded, so an account that already has one is the only way to own it.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

Extensions and end dates

Valve extended six of the eleven operations. These are the dates it gave when it did.

Operation extensions announced by Valve
OperationAnnouncedOriginal endNew end
Payback31 Jul 201331 Jul 201331 Aug 2013
Bravo20 Jan 201420 Jan 20145 Feb 2014
Phoenix4 Jun 2014Not stated11 Jun 2014
Vanguard10 Feb 2015Not statedEnd of March (31 Mar 2015)
Wildfire15 Jun 2016Not statedOne more month, ended 15 Jul 2016
Hydra21 Sep 2017Not stated13 Nov 2017

The last three operations also gave a grace period for rewards. Shattered Web missions ran until 30 March 2020, a day before Valve's wrap-up post. After Broken Fang you had until 15 May 2021 to spend stars, and after Riptide until 27 March 2022.

Operation cases and the knives they introduced

Most operations shipped a case that was exclusive at first and opened up later. Valve's notes confirm the Phoenix Case for all players on 11 June 2014, Breakout cases from 2 October 2014, the Falchion Case from 1 October 2015 and the Wildfire Case from 15 July 2016. Four new knife types debuted in operation cases.

Butterfly Knife

Operation Breakout Weapon Case, 1 July 2014.

Falchion Knife

Falchion Case, exclusive to Bloodhound pass holders from 26 May 2015.

Bowie Knife

Operation Wildfire Case, 17 February 2016.

Paracord, Survival, Nomad, Skeleton

Shattered Web Case, 18 November 2019.

The Hydra Case reused the Glove Case gloves, Broken Fang brought a new glove set, and Riptide used second-generation knives in Gamma finishes. Our CS2 cases list places these cases among all 44 containers, and the CS2 knife types guide covers every knife.

Is there a CS2 operation in 2026?

No, as of 23 October 2026. We checked every post in Valve's news feed for app 730 from the CS2 launch to 22 October 2026, and none announces an operation. It has been 1,705 days since Riptide ended. Any "Operation 2026" date on another site is a rumour.

What Valve has run instead are seasonal and pass-based systems. Premier runs in numbered seasons (Season 5 began on 8 July 2026), the Armory Pass earns credits from XP, and the weekly care package lets Prime accounts pick rewards. Our care package and Armory guide explains both.

Missions

Operations gave weekly missions. CS2 has weekly XP and the care package, not mission cards.

Coins

Operations gave a coin. CS2 gives yearly service medals and Premier season medals, which our medal guide covers.

Exclusive cases

Operations had pass-only cases. In CS2, new collections came through the Armory and terminals.

Read the service medals guide for the medals that took the coin's place on profiles.

Frequently asked questions

How many CS:GO operations were there?

Eleven: Payback, Bravo, Phoenix, Breakout, Vanguard, Bloodhound, Wildfire, Hydra, Shattered Web, Broken Fang and Riptide.

What was the last CS:GO operation?

Operation Riptide. It started on 21 September 2021 and ended on 21 February 2022; stars could be redeemed until 27 March 2022.

Is there a CS2 operation in 2026?

No. Valve has not announced an operation in CS2 as of 23 October 2026.

What was the first CS:GO operation?

Operation Payback, launched on 25 April 2013 with seven Workshop maps. It was extended to 31 August 2013.

Can you still get operation coins?

No. The coins were only awarded during each operation, and Valve's game file marks them as untradable, so they stay on the account that earned them.

How many operation coins are there?

37 versions: three levels for the first seven operations and four levels, including Diamond, for Hydra, Shattered Web, Broken Fang and Riptide.

Which operation lasted the longest?

Operation Hydra, 174 days from 23 May to 13 November 2017. Breakout was the shortest at 93 days.

Which operation added the Butterfly Knife?

Operation Breakout, through the Operation Breakout Weapon Case on 1 July 2014.

A CS2 account with years of coins on it

Pick the account by its coins and medals, and pay with crypto at 0 % fees.

Access
Full Access
Delivery
Instant
Guarantee
30 days

Sources and editorial scope

Reviewed 23 October 2026. Dates, features and extensions: Valve's CS:GO blog posts and release notes linked in the tables, plus The Hunter and the Hunted, Operation Wildfire, Operation Hydra, notes for 3 May 2021 and notes for 21 September 2021. Operation pages: Shattered Web, Broken Fang, Riptide. Coins, levels and the cannot-trade flag: Valve's items_game.txt as mirrored by SteamDatabase on 30 September 2026. CS2-era check: Steam news API read on 23 October 2026. Day counts are ALVIRAN's own arithmetic.

The Steam Subscriber Agreement does not allow you to sell your Steam account or otherwise transfer it. A profile check does not establish permission to sell or transfer a Steam account.