GTA V / GTA Online / Practical guide
GTA Games in Order: Every Grand Theft Auto Game by Release Date, 1997 to GTA 6
Every Grand Theft Auto game in release order, with the date, developer and platforms from Rockstar's own game pages and Newswire, then the story order, the GTA V platform history and where each game can still be played in 2026.
ALVIRAN Editorial · Reviewed 2026-10-23
In this guide

GTA V accounts with GTA Online already levelled
GTA V runs on PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC today, and every listing shows level, cash and bank balance before checkout.
- Access
- Full Access
- Delivery
- Instant
- Guarantee
- 30 days
GTA games in order of release date
The dates below are the release dates printed on each game's page at rockstargames.com/games, or the date of Rockstar's Newswire launch post for games released since 2009. Rockstar lists one date per game, which for the older games appears to be the North American release; other regions could get a game days or weeks apart.
| Game | Released | Developer (Rockstar) | Platforms Rockstar lists |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Theft Auto | 1 May 1998 (Rockstar); first released in Europe in late 1997 | Rockstar North | PC, PSOne, Game Boy Color |
| Grand Theft Auto: London 1969 | 6 Apr 1999 | Rockstar North | PC, PSOne |
| Grand Theft Auto 2 | 27 Oct 1999 | Rockstar North | PC, PSOne, Dreamcast, Game Boy Color |
| Grand Theft Auto III | 22 Oct 2001 | Rockstar North | PS2, Xbox, PC, Mac, PS4, iOS, Android, Kindle |
| Grand Theft Auto: Vice City | 27 Oct 2002 | Rockstar North | PS2, Xbox, PC, Mac, PS4, iOS, Android, Kindle |
| Grand Theft Auto Advance | 24 Oct 2004 | Digital Eclipse | Game Boy Advance |
| Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas | 26 Oct 2004 | Rockstar North | PS2, Xbox, PC, Mac, PS3, Xbox 360, PS4, Xbox One, iOS, Android, Kindle, Windows Phone |
| Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories | 25 Oct 2005 | Rockstar Leeds, Rockstar North | PSP, PS2, iOS, Android, Kindle |
| Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories | 31 Oct 2006 | Rockstar Leeds, Rockstar North | PSP, PS2, PS3 |
| Grand Theft Auto IV | 29 Apr 2008 | Rockstar North, Rockstar Toronto | PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Xbox One |
| Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars | 17 Mar 2009 | Rockstar Leeds, Rockstar North | Nintendo DS, PSP, iOS, Android, Kindle |
| Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City | 29 Oct 2009 on disc | Rockstar North | Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One |
| Grand Theft Auto V | 17 Sep 2013 | Rockstar North | PS3, Xbox 360, then PS4, Xbox One, PC, PS5, Xbox Series X|S |
| Grand Theft Auto Online | 1 Oct 2013 | Not listed | Same as GTA V; standalone since 2022 |
| Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition | 11 Nov 2021 | Not named on Rockstar's page | PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Switch, PC; iOS and Android from 14 Dec 2023 |
| Grand Theft Auto VI | 19 Nov 2026 (announced) | Not listed | PS5, Xbox Series X|S |
Two dates to know about. Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto page gives 1 May 1998, but the game first came out in Europe in late 1997, developed by DMA Design (today Rockstar North) and published by BMG Interactive, before Rockstar Games existed (its site gives 1998 as its founding year); we use 1997 in the short list because that is the year the game first shipped. For Episodes from Liberty City, Rockstar's game page says 9 October 2009, while its own Newswire post of 29 October 2009 announces the disc "in stores now"; we use the Newswire date.
How many GTA games are there?
Rockstar's games list has 16 Grand Theft Auto entries once GTA VI is counted. Counting depends on what you include:
| Count | Number | Which games |
|---|---|---|
| Main games | 8 | GTA, GTA 2, GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas, GTA IV, GTA V, GTA VI |
| Handheld and spin-off games | 4 | GTA Advance, Liberty City Stories, Vice City Stories, Chinatown Wars |
| Expansions and episodes | 2 | London 1969 (for GTA), Episodes from Liberty City (for GTA IV, two episodes) |
| Online and remasters | 2 | GTA Online, The Trilogy: The Definitive Edition |
| All entries on Rockstar's games list | 16 | Everything above |
Episodes from Liberty City holds two episodes, The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony. Rockstar's 2009 post says the disc "does not require a copy of Grand Theft Auto IV to play", which is why it appears as its own entry. Grand Theft Auto: London 1961, a small PC add-on for London 1969, is not on Rockstar's list at all, so we do not count it. The Lost and Damned first came out as a download for GTA IV on Xbox 360 before the disc; Rockstar's current site does not list that earlier date.
GTA games in order of story (timeline)
Rockstar's pages give the era for some games and only the city for others. The table shows both, and labels the years that come from fan research rather than from Rockstar.
| Game | Setting | Era Rockstar states | Year in fan timelines |
|---|---|---|---|
| London 1969 | London | 1969 (in the title) | 1969 |
| Vice City Stories | Vice City | "Vice City, 1984" | 1984 |
| Vice City | Vice City | "Welcome to the 1980s" | 1986 |
| San Andreas | Los Santos and the state of San Andreas | "the early '90s" | 1992 |
| Grand Theft Auto | Three American cities | Not stated | 1997 |
| Liberty City Stories | Liberty City | Not stated | 1998 |
| GTA Advance | Liberty City | Not stated | 2000 |
| GTA III | Liberty City | Not stated | 2001 |
| GTA IV and Episodes from Liberty City | Liberty City | Not stated | 2008 |
| Chinatown Wars | Liberty City | Not stated | 2009 |
| GTA V and GTA Online | Los Santos and Blaine County | Not stated | 2013 onward |
| GTA VI | Vice City and the state of Leonida | Not stated ("Vice City, USA") | Not known |
| GTA 2 | "Anywhere City" | Not stated | No agreed year |
Fan years are taken from the GTA wiki, which dates each story from in-game evidence. Fans also split the series into the top-down games, the PS2-era Liberty City/Vice City/San Andreas continuity and the GTA IV and V continuity; Rockstar does not use those labels on its site. Each continuity has its own Liberty City and Vice City, so the story order only works inside one of them.
GTA Online accounts with GTA$100M or more
Thirteen years of GTA V content is a lot to buy; these accounts list a balance that covers most of it.
- Access
- Full Access
- Delivery
- Instant
- Guarantee
- 30 days
GTA V release dates on every platform
GTA V is the longest-running game in the series and the one you can play today on current consoles and PC. Every date below is the date of Rockstar's launch post.
| Platform | Released | Note |
|---|---|---|
| PS3 and Xbox 360 | 17 Sep 2013 | GTA Online followed on 1 Oct 2013; both shut down on these consoles on 16 Dec 2021 |
| PS4 and Xbox One | 18 Nov 2014 | Character transfer from PS3 and Xbox 360 opened |
| PC | 14 Apr 2015 | With the Rockstar Editor |
| PS5 and Xbox Series X|S | 15 Mar 2022 | GTA Online also sold on its own |
| PC (Enhanced) | 4 Mar 2025 | Free upgrade for PC owners; the original is now called Legacy |
From GTA V's launch on 17 September 2013 to GTA VI on 19 November 2026 is 13 years and 2 months, by far the longest gap between two main GTA games. The previous record was GTA IV to GTA V, five years and four months. The full GTA Online history is in our GTA Online DLC list in order, and what Rockstar has said about GTA Online once GTA VI is out is in our GTA Online after GTA 6 guide.
Where to play each GTA game in 2026
| Game | How | Rockstar source |
|---|---|---|
| GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas | The Trilogy: The Definitive Edition on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Switch and PC; Steam since 19 Jan 2023 | Launch, Steam |
| GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas (mobile) | Definitive Editions on iOS and Android, also added for Netflix members on 14 Dec 2023 | Netflix and mobile post |
| GTA IV and Episodes from Liberty City | GTA IV: Complete Edition on Steam and the Rockstar Games Launcher since 24 Mar 2020; Xbox backward compatibility since 9 Feb 2017 | Complete Edition, Xbox |
| San Andreas (original) | Xbox One backward compatibility since 7 Jun 2018 | Xbox post |
| Liberty City Stories, Chinatown Wars | iOS and Android; in the rotating GTA+ games list since 19 Oct 2023 | GTA+ post |
| GTA V and GTA Online | PS5, Xbox Series X|S, PC, plus PS4 and Xbox One | GTA V site |
| GTA VI | PS5 and Xbox Series X|S from 19 Nov 2026; no PC version announced | GTA VI site |
Rockstar's pages for Grand Theft Auto, London 1969, GTA 2 and GTA Advance list only their original platforms, and Rockstar has announced no re-release of them.
GTA 6: the 16th entry
- Release: Thursday 19 November 2026 on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, set on 6 November 2025 after two delays.
- Setting: the state of Leonida, "home to the neon-soaked streets of Vice City and beyond", the first new GTA story set in Vice City since Vice City Stories in 2006.
- Mode: "a single player experience" according to Rockstar's pre-order post; no online mode announced.
- Music: six radio stations named so far and a 34-track album, listed in our GTA 6 radio stations list.
Everything else Rockstar has confirmed, from pre-load on 12 November to the editions, is in our GTA 6 release date guide. If you want to know what a GTA Online rank says about an account before GTA VI arrives, see the GTA Online level guide.
Frequently asked questions
What is the correct order of GTA games?
By release: GTA (1997), London 1969, GTA 2 (1999), GTA III (2001), Vice City (2002), GTA Advance and San Andreas (2004), Liberty City Stories (2005), Vice City Stories (2006), GTA IV (2008), Chinatown Wars and Episodes from Liberty City (2009), GTA V and GTA Online (2013), The Trilogy: The Definitive Edition (2021), GTA VI (2026).
How many GTA games are there?
Rockstar's games list has 16 Grand Theft Auto entries including GTA VI. Eight of them are main games: GTA, GTA 2, GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas, GTA IV, GTA V and GTA VI.
What was the first GTA game?
Grand Theft Auto, released in Europe in late 1997. Rockstar's own game page lists 1 May 1998, and the platforms PC, PSOne and Game Boy Color.
What GTA game comes first in the story?
London 1969 is the earliest setting. Within the PS2-era continuity, Vice City Stories (Rockstar: 1984) comes first, then Vice City, San Andreas and, by fan timelines, Liberty City Stories, GTA Advance and GTA III.
When did GTA 5 come out?
On 17 September 2013 for PS3 and Xbox 360. It followed on PS4 and Xbox One on 18 November 2014, PC on 14 April 2015 and PS5 and Xbox Series X|S on 15 March 2022.
How long has it been between GTA 5 and GTA 6?
13 years and 2 months, from 17 September 2013 to 19 November 2026. It is the longest gap between two main GTA games.
Is GTA 6 coming to PC?
Rockstar has not announced a PC version as of 23 October 2026. GTA VI is listed only for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
Which GTA games can you still buy?
The Definitive Edition trilogy (GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas), GTA IV: Complete Edition on PC, Liberty City Stories and Chinatown Wars on mobile, GTA V and GTA Online, and GTA VI on pre-order.
Play GTA V while GTA VI loads
Compare platform, level and balance on every GTA V listing and pick the account you want to keep next to GTA VI.
- Access
- Full Access
- Delivery
- Instant
- Guarantee
- 30 days
Sources and editorial scope
Reviewed 23 October 2026. Rockstar game pages (developer, platform and release date fields, read 23 Oct 2026): GTA, London 1969, GTA 2, GTA III, Vice City, GTA Advance, San Andreas, Liberty City Stories, Vice City Stories, GTA IV, Chinatown Wars, Episodes from Liberty City, The Trilogy, GTA V, GTA VI. Rockstar Newswire launch posts: Episodes from Liberty City (29 Oct 2009), GTA V (17 Sep 2013), GTA Online (1 Oct 2013), PS4/Xbox One (18 Nov 2014), PC (14 Apr 2015), PS5/Xbox Series (15 Mar 2022), PC Enhanced (4 Mar 2025), Definitive Edition (11 Nov 2021), Steam (19 Jan 2023), Netflix (14 Dec 2023), GTA IV Complete Edition (24 Mar 2020), GTA IV on Xbox One (9 Feb 2017), San Andreas on Xbox One (7 Jun 2018), GTA+ mobile games (19 Oct 2023), GTA VI date (6 Nov 2025), GTA VI pre-orders (24 Jun 2026). Story years marked as fan timelines come from the GTA wiki and are labelled; the late-1997 European release of the first game is a press and wiki fact, not printed on Rockstar's page.
Rockstar's legal terms govern accounts and virtual items. A balance or rank check does not override them or establish that an account transfer is authorised.








